Follow Us on Facebook Home | Site Map | Contact | © City of Lower Burrell. All Rights Reserved.
Lower Burrell Police Department
New D.A.R.E. Car Donated by Hillcrest VW

The Lower Burrell Police would like to thank HILLCREST VW for providing the "NO PILL POPPING PASSAT"! This is the second time they provided a DARE car to the department ! FREE of charge to the city. The vehicle will be used by the SRO to travel between schools. Thanks Again To HILLCREST VW!

2015 No Pill Poppin' Passat

The Lower Burrell Police Department is located at 2800 Bethel Street, within the Municipal Building. The Police Department is dedicated to excellence. It is organized around the principles of Total Quality Management. It is committed to fair and impartial enforcement of all laws and ordinances, with a respect for fundamental human rights and the creation of a safe environment for all who live, work and play within the borders of our city. The department is constantly striving to improve itself, increase qualitative and quantitative productivity and remain responsive to the needs of an ever-growing community.


The Police Department consists of seventeen (17) full-time police officers, and a full-time secretary, Sharon Wilks, to serve the residents of Lower Burrell. Chief Tim Weitzel manages the two divisions within the department, the Detective Division, and the Patrol/Traffic Division. The department also deploys a School Resource Officer (SRO) in cooperation with the Burrell School District and a K-9 Officer. The Detective Division consists of the Detective Lieutenant Scott Cardenas, Detective Sergeant Jason Napier, and Detective John Marhefka (SRO). The Patrol/Traffic Division consists of three (3) shift sergeants: Sergeant Gregg Dale, Sergeant Scott Miller, and Sergeant Zach Beam. It also consists of ten (10) patrolmen; Patrolmen Smail, Dileo, Cernava (K-9), Aulerich, Sekanick, Noll, Nedley, Ondo, and Acquaviva. The K-9 Unit consists of Patrolman Cernava and his K-9 partner Dax.


The Police Department is involved in numerous programs to enhance the service to our community. The Patrol/Traffic Division is assigned to an Officer District Program, where each officer is assigned a geographical area of the City as their district. The officers spend extra time in their districts making contacts with the residents and business within the district and attending to concerns or complaints.


The patrol officers patrol all areas of the city, responding to calls for service, investigating accidents, unusual incidents and violations of the law. The crime prevention programs such as the Citizen’s Police Academy are designed to enhance community security, heighten the citizens' power of observation and to encourage mutual assistance and concern among neighbors. The SRO will continue our long standing tradition of presenting K-12 school classes which includes D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education), the Charlie Checkfirst Program, Child I.D., the Student Police Academy and various other presentations dealing with Crime Prevention. Residents and business' are urged to look out for one another and to report any suspicious activity by calling the police at 911.


The Detective Division investigates all cases both adult and juvenile. They also work with our Burrell Youth Commission, which is comprised of volunteers from the City of Lower Burrell and the Township of Upper Burrell. A Westmoreland county Judge appoints the members of the Youth Commission. The Youth Commission hears cases involving offenses such as theft, retail theft, underage drinking, curfew violations, simple assaults, incorrigible youths and other offenses. The Youth Commission places juveniles on probation, counsels the youth and monitors their progress toward becoming a model teen citizen. We hope these services improve our citizens’ standard of living and make our community a better and safer place to live. If you are in need of our services, please dial 911, or dial our office at 724-339-4287.


information effective February 9, 2016


Home |  FAQ  |  Events  |   Contact Us